

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

November 16, 2016, 2:00 P.M. Room 419-C, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, Bruce Day*, Johnnie

Parks and Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Dr. Bo Hannaford and Dr. Kent Shellenberger

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Jerry Hsieh, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby

Murphey and Lecrecia Schmidt

VISITORS:

Dr. Howard Kuchta, Cameron University; Dr. Goldie Thompson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education; Dr. Debbie Landry, Northeastern

State University

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 2:02 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Shirley asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the September 21, 2016 Commission Meeting: Ms. Bixler made a motion to approve the minutes of the September 21, 2016 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Parks seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: absent Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: absent Mr. Parks: approve Mr. Day: absent

Discussion and action on approval of CEQA Meeting dates for 2017: Mr. Parks made a motion to approve the CEQA Meeting dates for 2017 as presented. Mr. Brown seconded motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: absent
Mr. Brown: approve Dr. Shellenberger: absent
Mr. Parks: approve Secretary Shirley: approve
Mr. Day: approve

Program updates: updates included statewide virtual charter schools and OEQA's agreement with the Statewide Virtual Charter School Board.

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational: Dr. Craig provided the monthly budget.

The meeting adjourned at 2:50 PM.

The minutes of the November 16, 2016 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

| as su | ubmitted | with corrections | |
|------------------------|----------|---------------------------|-------------|
| on January 18, 2017. | | | |
| Signed: | | | |
| Natalie Shirley, Chair | man | Dr. Daniel Craig, Executi | ve Director |

^{*} Mr. Day arrived at 2:08 PM.